How to easily free up space on your iPhone or iPad

Clean up your iPhone and recover space by removing several gigabytes of unnecessary data.

Years go by and, despite the arrival of new iPhone models with more comfortable capabilities, users still seem to be looking for a way not to saturate the storage space of their device. It must be said that if there are models carrying 128 GB or 256 GB, their relatively high price is often enough to opt for a 64 GB versios.

Once the space is occupied by the operating system has been counted, what remains of these 64 GB is quickly occupied.

Finding a solution quickly to make room is therefore essential. Your camera may well, if you do this cleaning, refuse to capture a shot. You will find in the following lines some elements of response to help you free up space on the storage your iPhone.

1. Store the photos on the cloud

It sounds like a sense, but many users are still unaware of saving their film on the cloud.

If you have opted for the homemade solution, iCloud, all the contents of your film are automatically saved, in original quality. You can then choose to keep all the contents of the film locally on your device which will monopolize the storage, or choose to keep the originals in full resolution on iCloud and keep only a smaller version locally, suitable for the size of the device screen. So it will occupy less space on your iPhone.

To find this parameter, go to the Settings, then to your Apple identifier, enter the iCloud menu.

Then access the Photos menu, and choose Optimize the storage of the iPhone, rather than Download and keep the originals.

Those who would not like to pay for an iCloud subscription – only 5 GB are offered – to save their photos can turn to Google Photos. This solution is free if you choose a high quality backup – but with a light compression: 16 megapixels maximum for the photos and HD 1080p for the videos. It is counted from your Google Drive space, if you opt for a backup as original.

When all of your images are saved in Google Photos, you can then free up space on your iPhone by deleting the photos from the film.

To do this, launch Google Photos, press Free from Space, then Delete to delete photos stored locally on the device.

Google Photos will then become your main photo application, replacing the native Photos application.

2. Remove unused applications

Your iPhone is undoubtedly home to applications that you have never opened, or that you have not used for several months. Even if you may need it “someday”, they unnecessarily monopolize the storage space of your device.

To check which applications are rarely, if ever, used, open the Settings, then in General, enter iPhone Storage.

iOS should first display the amount of space that can be recovered by removing unused applications. Then scroll through the options until you reach the device application list.

For each of them, iOS displays the date of the last use, and also displays very clearly the applications never used.

Enter the applications never used in detail and press Delete the App to permanently uninstall it.

If, however, you have documents in some of your unused applications, it is possible to uninstall them without deleting the documents associated with them.

To do this, open the Settings, go to iTunes and App Store, and activate the option Uninstall unused apps.

Application icons will remain on the iPhone home page, but will be decked out in the iCloud icon, indicating that they will need to be downloaded again for use.

3. Delete application documents

We rarely think about it, but the documents or content that you create or use with the applications installed on your iPhone also unnecessarily occupy your storage: episodes of series downloaded locally on Netflix, documents saved in the file manager, photos and videos received in email applications (iMessage, WhatsApp) etc.

Start by taking an inventory of the documents and data associated with your applications.

Open the Settings, go to General, then to Storage iPhone, before consulting, application by application, the quantity of space used by the Documents and data.

Apart from the Music application which allows content to be deleted directly from the iOS storage manager, you will have to manually open all the applications concerned to sort and delete unnecessary documents.

Consider, for example, deleting locally downloaded content for offline use (Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Spotify, etc.), delete the photos and videos received in Message or WhatsApp, or delete the stored videos, in your third-party video player.

For Message, you can easily clean from the iPhone Storage menu.

Documents and data are classified by categories, while the largest attachments are recorded in a menu dedicated to them. By pressing Modify, you can select several items to delete them.

To manage the content on WhatsApp, go to the Settings, enter the Use of data and storage and access the Use of storage

For each stored conversation, WhatsApp displays its size. By going into the details of a discussion, you will discover the distribution of the use of storage according to the type of attachment. Press Manage …, select the elements to delete, and validate by pressing Delete.

4. Clear the application cache

iOS does not offer any solution to empty the cache of applications installed on the device. If certain applications offer this option directly in their Settings, it will be necessary to proceed otherwise to empty the cache on the others.

To check the amount of data contained in the cache of your applications, open the iOS settings, go to General, and access the iPhone Storage menu.

Then go into the details of an application. The Documents and Data section indicates the amount of space used by all of the application data, including the cache.

To remove the cover, there is no other way than to delete the application before reinstalling it. You can then check that these data have been deleted correctly by returning to the settings dedicated to storing each application.

Logically, the amount of data in the Documents and data for each application deleted and then reinstalled should be zeroed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *